Schuylkill Navy Run 2013 - Results, Winners and Team Points

Official Results

Division Winners
  Men Women
Open Ryan Archer, Undine Liz Welsh, Undine
Juniors Eamon Glavin, Undine Kate Horvat, Vesper
Masters Tes Trocky, Malta Cass Cunningham, College
Guests Stephen Horvath Kristin Gavin
Novice Corey Brown, Undine Sabrina Maurer, Crescent
Team Point Trophies
  Men Women Junior Men Junior Women
1st Malta, 42 Undine, 12 Crescent, 47 Crescent, 8
2nd Crescent, 78 Vesper, 15 Malta, 46 Vesper, 18
3rd Undine, 81 Crescent, 51 Penn AC, 126  

Past Winners - updated with 2013 results

Everybody from C.T. Barrow in 1899 to 9-time winner Mike Teti and reigning champion Ryan Archer. From Karin Constant in 1973 to 4-time winner and reigning champion Liz Welsh.  All Junior, Masters, Novice and Guest winners since 2000.

2012 Results

2011 Results

Runners and bib numbers

5 and 5/8 miles over hilly terrain.


Eligibility Rules

Any and all members of Schuylkill Navy clubs and its affiliates are eligible to compete. Affiliates include Whitemarsh Boat Club, Sedgeley Club, Philadelphia Adaptive Rowing, and Philadelphia City Rowing.

Friends and family who do not meet the above requirements may run as guests. First guest runners, male and female, will receive separate prizes. They cannot run as a team and will not count in the team scoring.


  • Open - men and women not eligible to run masters, junior or guest divisions
  • Master - men and women, 40 years and over
  • Juniors - high school students, per USRowing juniors definition
  • Guests - all others. Prize for first guest, male and female, only. Guests not eligible for other prizes.
  • Novice - running in the Turkey Trot for the first time. A trophy and prize is presented to the first male and female novice. Novice is a subcategory, so you enter novice open, novice master, novice junior or novice guest.

Entry Fees and Deadlines

All entries must paid via Regatta Central as part of the entry process. Entry fee is $25 per person, $30 after November 22. Phone and email entries will not be accepted.  Any late entries after Friday, November 22, must be done on Thursday morning between 7:30 and 8:30 am at Malta.

Late Entries

Late entries after November 22 will be accepted only at registration between 7:30 and 8:30 am Thursday at Malta BC. The late entry fee is $30.

Race Day Registration

Club designees may pick up registration packets on Thursday morning between 7:30 and 8:30 at Malta. Registration will be closed promptly at 8:30.

Donate a prize

One of the things that makes the Turkey Trot so memorable is the prizes. Each year the committee solicits prizes from the Philadelphia rowing community. We typically line up 60 to 100 prizes and everyone selects a prize in the order in which they finished.

Minimum donation is $25. Your name will be engraved on the prize or a label, and you'll feel good about contributing.

For prize donations questions, contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

The Course

The course is 5 and 5/8 miles over hilly terrain. Starting at Malta Boat Club on Kelly Drive, the runners go inbound on Kelly to the traffic light in front of Lloyd Hall, turn left and go up Lemon Hill and over Girard Avenue bridge, then right onto Lansdowne Avenue. Just past Sweetbriar cutoff, the course turns right and starts the true "cross country" segment: from here the race is over grassy surface. Runners go to Meade Monument, then follow the cyclone fence to the Pagoda entrance gate, cross thru the service entrance to Belmont Plateau, up the hill to Belmont Mansion, and return by way of Brewery Hill, down Kelly Drive to Malta.


Points for team trophies will be scored only by the first five finishers from each club for mens teams and the first three finishers from each club for womens teams. Only those eligible in accordance with the Eligibility Rules will be permitted to run in the race. Anyone running with the wrong number (or someone else's number) will be disqualified and their team (club) will be assessed an additional 25 points.

Award Ceremony

The award ceremony will be held at Fairmount Rowing Association this year. Awards will begin as quickly after the last runner has crossed the finish line as possible. We thank Fairmount for their hospitality in hosting the awards ceremony.

Past Winners

Everybody from C.T. Barrow in 1899 to 9-time winner Mike Teti and 11-time winner and reigning champion Shane Madden. From Karin Constant in 1973 to reigning champion Bridget Gribbin.  All Junior, Masters, Novice and Guest winners since 2000.